

TRISTAN GILBERTSON Group General Counsel & Company Secretary

26 October 2011

DIRECTOR INDEPENDENCE DETERMINATION

As required by NZX Listing Rule 3.3.3(a), the Telecom Board has determined that the following directors are (as specified below) independent or not independent, as defined by NZX Listing Rule 1.6.1:

- Wayne Boyd Murray Horn Sue Sheldon Ron Spithill Paul Reynolds Kevin Roberts
- Independent Independent Independent Not independent Not independent

Yours faithfully

Tristan Gilbertson Group General Counsel & Company Secretary

ENDS